The awkward first post

The first post of a new blog is always a bit awkward. So let’s address two key questions: who, and why.

Who

This blog is authored by Katy Jordan. At the moment, I’m in the final year of a PhD in the Institute of Educational Technology at the Open University, UK. I’m currently writing up my PhD, which has looked at academics’ use of social networking sites. I’ve also worked on MOOCs, and semantic web technologies for education; a list of my publications can be found here.

Why

After being immersed in my PhD since 2012, I’m now thinking about what I might do next. How has the Educational Technology field changed in recent years, and where do I place myself within it? Hence, ‘shift+refresh’. I see this blog as a space for reflecting on the Ed Tech landscape, testing out ideas, notes on events, that sort of thing.

So that’s really just to kick things off. More interesting posts to follow 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

