The history of Open Education – a timeline and bibliography

This month I started on the second half of my work with the OER Hub. Building on discussions between Martin Weller, Viv Rolfe and Irwin DeVries, I have been working on developing a timeline of key papers in the history of Open Education. I’m also working through the papers, to tag them with keywords and draw out broader themes (I’m about halfway through this so far, and am sure that my thinking will shift a bit before it is ‘finished’). A draft version can be found online here: http://www.katyjordan.com/opened_draft.html.

Although it is very much work-in-progress, I wanted to share it and to ask for any feedback or thoughts, particularly in relation to:

  • Suggestions for other really key, seminal works in the history of Open Education that I am currently missing
  • Suggestions for any additional keywords, topics or themes to draw out of the papers

Comments welcome – thanks! 🙂

5 comments
  1. francesbell said:

    Hi Katy. Got wifi! Links to my ‘Open by Accident’ post and the Scholar Google search in this post http://francesbell.com/bellblog/ground-zero-approaches-to-open-yearofopen/ should turn up refs to the Open/Active/Action Learning stuff that influenced me in campus-based learning prior to Internet. The openness for me was about the student freedom to find resources/ explore ideas based on some outline prompts.
    I hope this helps. My own view is that the innovatory approaches being undertaken in campus-based education can get a bit swamped out by the distance learning literature in the history of Open.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Frances! Many thanks for this. I know what you mean about open getting swamped out by the distance learning literature! I’ve not traced the links with active learning yet – this is very useful food for thought. Thanks again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Katy, I agree with Frances, because we have quite a long history of people talking about things as being ‘open’ in different contexts, especially in he ‘open and distance learning’ sense, then I think for many people who are less embedded in this discourse, open is not something they necessarily associate strongly with the pedagogy of the campus and the classroom. In the piece I’ve linked below I’ve tried to briefly trace a history of how we got to OER and why we have now seen a shift to discussions of OEP, from my perspective at least. I hope you find it interesting / useful. http://eprints.bbk.ac.uk/17820/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi J.B., many thanks for sharing this – it looks like a very interesting tool, I’ll have a play! Cheers, Katy

      Like

Leave a Reply

